150 years of Lens Roses

 

Belgium is known for its exceptional nurseries, gardens, gardeners and landscapers. One of the most beautiful gems is rose nursery Lens Roses, a charming ambassador who brings roses all over the world.

150 years of excellence serving the rose and a secure future

Text: Marie Noëlle Cruysmans
Photos: Photoeil, Lens Roses, Eden Magazine.

The story begins in 1870 in Onze-Lieve-Vrouw-Waver near Mechelen, with the founding of the 'Grandes Pépinières et Roseraies Louis Lens'. The company would eventually span several generations. Founder Louis started cultivating trees, shrubs and roses. His son Victor continued the work and started crossing roses. He wanted to create cut flowers that smelled good, as was the fashion at the time. This is how his 'Ville de Malines', 'Cardinal Mercier', 'Princesse Joséphine Charlotte' or 'Madame Louis Lens' came into being.

The company soon became the place to be. Lens grew all the most interesting roses of the moment and unconcerned sent them all over Europe, to private individuals and growers in England, Germany, France or Italy. The Second World War, however, put an end to this formidable momentum. The company was sadly shut down. Four years later, the entire collection is lost. In order to make a new start, Victor sent his son Louis junior to collect grafting material in Belgium and Great Britain... A new beginning for Louis Lens' rose nursery.

Poetic and modest

Louis junior, a scientist with a passion for mathematics and astronomy, has to give up his studies to join the adventure. He immediately sets to work. From 1947, on the advice of his parents, he started crossing new roses. After all, after the war, tastes changed. Lovers now want modern roses, in unicoloured, sometimes showy borders full of large-flowered shrubs. Mainly large-flowered tea hybrids and spray roses, Floribunda and Polyantha. In 1963, the grandiose 'Pascali', a cross with the famous hybrid tea rose 'Queen Elisabeth', caused fireworks. Because of its exceptional qualities: health, flower shape and white colour, 'Pascali' wins the largest collection of medals and later also receives the unique distinction of "World top rose 1991".

Delighted by this first success, Louis continued to cross with more natural roses, which suited him better. Moschata hybrids - from a line of R. moschata, Noisette roses and Rosa multiflora -are loose shrub roses with flowers in clusters. This group was developed in England in 1913 by the Reverend Joseph Pemberton and includes well-known varieties such as 'Penelope', 'Cornelia' or 'Felicia'. Louis prefers to work with these graceful and fragrant roses, which are also very floriferous and strong. Like Pemberton, he uses the rose 'Trier' - improved by Peter Lambert in 1904 - with its double, fragrant creamy white flowers with a yellow tint. This rose is the origin of many moschata hybrids.

When he crossed it with R. chinensis 'Mutabilis', a difficult gamble, he obtained the delightful 'Plaisanterie', with flowers that change colour throughout the flowering period: orange in the bud, soft yellow at budding, then pink and finishing in dark pink to almost violet. Gradually, Louis became THE specialist of unique hybrids, going against most breeders who continue to work mainly with the large-flowered classical tea hybrids and spray roses. The whole world envies him for his refined 'Guirlande d'Amour', 'Pleine de Grâce', 'Bouquet Parfait' or his tributes to virtuosos and composers such as 'Ravel', 'Schubert', 'Sibelius', 'Puccini', 'Paganini' or 'Verdi'. His nursery is a real treasure trove, with an incredible collection of botanical roses that sometimes even disappeared in situ. His famous 'Rush', descended from Rosa multiflora, has the vigour of a wild rose combined with a persistent flowering until frost...

Louis Lens found a successor for his nursery with the Rudy and Anne Velle-Boudolf family in Oudenburg. Anne has been crossing and breeding following the example of the master since 1992. Her works include 'Dinky', 'Jean Stéphenne', 'Gaard um Tiizenbierg' and 'Caroline's Heart'. Lens Roses is respected and loved in Belgium and all over the world. Discover the latest developments of Lens Roses, and the classics of Louis Lens, at the Lens Roses exhibition at the Hex Garden and Plant Days.
www.hex.be/exposant/lens-roses

With thanks to Eden Magazine. You can read the complete article by Noëlle Cruysmans, with photos of Louis Lens' best roses and Anne Velle-Boudolf's choice in Eden Magazine in the spring issue 2021   https://edenmagazine.be/

 

Bouquet Parfait
Dentelle de Bruges
Waterloo
Pascali
Countess Michel d'Ursel
Stéphanie d'Ursel
Jean Stéphenne
Sourire d'Isabelle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lens Flair

 

Give your opinion

Garden Festival Hex

Every year in June and September the gardens of Castle Hex open to the general public. Enjoy our beautiful gardens and visit the many stands of our numerous exhibitors. More...

Follow us

Follow Hex on facebook or enjoy seasonal photos from the Hex gardens on Instagram.

Recent Stories

© 2022 Castle Hex - All rights reserved

COVID 19

150 ans Lens Roses

 

La Belgique est connue pour ses pépinières, jardins, jardiniers et paysagistes d’exception. La rose de Lens, l’un de ses plus beaux fleurons est devenue une ambassadrice de charme dans le monde entier.

150 ans d’excellence au service de la rose et un avenir bien assuré

Texte : Marie Noëlle Cruysmans
Photos : Photoeil, Lens Roses, Eden Magazine.

Tout commence en 1870 à Wavre-Notre-Dame, Onze-Lieve-Vrouw-Waver près de Malines, avec la création des Grandes Pépinières et Roseraies Louis Lens qui va réunir plusieurs générations. Louis le fondateur débute par la production d’arbres, arbustes et rosiers, son fils Victor poursuit l’activité et commence un travail de croisement de rosiers. Il cherche à obtenir de la fleur à couper, de préférence parfumée, pour répondre aux tendances de l’époque. Ses ‘Villes de Malines’, ‘Cardinal Mercier’, ‘Princesse Joséphine Charlotte’ ou ‘Madame Louis Lens’ en sont les témoins.

L’entreprise devient rapidement the place to be. Chez Lens, on cultive toutes les roses les plus intéressantes du moment et on les expédie sans souci dans toute l’Europe, vers les particuliers et les pépinières d’Angleterre, Allemagne, France ou Italie. Ce formidable élan s’arrête malheureusement par l’arrivée de la Seconde guerre mondiale. L’entreprise est stoppée et après 4 ans, les collections sont perdues. Pour pouvoir reprendre un nouveau départ, Victor envoie son fils Louis junior prélever des écussons dans toutes les grandes propriétés de Belgique et de Grande Bretagne… et l’histoire continue.

Poète et discret

Scientifique passionné de mathématiques et d’astronomie, Louis doit renoncer à poursuivre des études pour rejoindre l’aventure et se mettre directement au travail. Dès 1947, sur recommandation parentale, il commence de nouvelles hybridations de roses. Après-guerre les goûts évoluent. Les amateurs sont friands de rosiers modernes, de parterres uniformes parfois criards plantés de buissons à grandes fleurs. Tous des hybrides de thé ou des rosiers à bouquets, Floribunda et Polyantha. En 1963, c’est le coup de tonnerre. La grandiose ‘Pascali’ apparait, issue d’un croisement avec notamment la célèbre hybride de thé ‘Queen Elisabeth’. Immaculée, ‘Pascali’ reçoit la plus grande collection de médailles et plus tard une distinction à nulle autre pareille, la « Rose favorite du monde 1991 ».

Louis, ravi de ce premier succès, poursuit les croisements avec des rosiers plus naturels qui lui ressemblent. Des rosiers hybrides musqués, - issus d’une lignée de R. moschata, de rosiers Noisette et de Rosa multifloraun groupe d’arbustes remontants aux fleurs réunies en bouquets. Ce groupe créé en Angleterre en 1913 par le Révérend Joseph Pemberton, compte des célébrités comme ‘Penelope’, ‘Cornelia’ ou ‘Felicia’. Louis préfère ces petites fleurs gracieuses et parfumées tout en étant généreuses et vigoureuses. Comme Pemberton, il utilise comme point de départ le rosier ‘Trier’, - obtention de Lambert en 1904 -, un arbuste à l’allure souple, bien parfumé, aux petites fleurs doubles blanc crème, teintées de jaune, à l’origine de la plupart des hybrides musqués.

Lorsqu’il ose le marier avec R. chinensis ‘Mutabilis’, un pari difficile, il obtient la délicieuse ‘Plaisanterie’ dont les fleurs changent de couleur tout au long de la floraison. Orange en boutons, jaune lors de l’éclosion puis rose avant de terminer rose foncé presque violacé. Peu à peu, il devient LE spécialiste des croisements inédits, à contre-courant de la majorité des obtenteurs travaillant encore et toujours avec des Polyantha, Floribunda et autres hybrides de thé. La terre entière lui envie ses délicates ‘Guirlande d’Amour’, ‘Pleine de Grâce’, ‘Bouquet Parfait’ ou sa tribu des mélomanes tels ’Ravel’, ‘Schubert’, ‘Sibelius’, ‘Puccini’, ‘Paganini’ ou ‘Verdi’. Sa pépinière recèle de véritables trésors. Notamment une incroyable collection de roses botaniques parfois disparues in situ. Sa fameuse ‘Rush’ qui descend d’ailleurs de Rosa multiflora a la force de croissance d’une rose sauvage couplée à une floraison continue.

Louis Lens a été succédé par la famille Rudy et Anne Velle-Boudolf à Oudenburg. Anne fait des croisements selon l'exemple du maître depuis 1992. Sa main comprend «Dinky», «Jean Stéphenne», «Gaard um Tiizenbierg» et «Caroline's Heart». Nursery Lens Roses est respectée et aimée en Belgique et à l'étranger. Découvrez les derniers développements de Lens Roses, et les classiques de Louis Lens, sur l'exposition festive de Lens Roses à Hex.
www.hex.be/exposant/lens-roses

Merci à Eden Magazine. Vous pouvez lire l'intégralité de l'article avec toutes les photos et le choix de Anne Velle-Oudulf dans l'édition Eden printemps 2021   https://edenmagazine.be/

 

Bouquet Parfait
Dentelle de Bruges
Waterloo
Pascali
Gravin Michel d’Ursel
Stéphanie d’Ursel
Jean Stéphenne
Sourire d’Isabelle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lens Flair

 

Donnez votre avis

Journée des plantes à Hex

Chaque année, en juin et septembre, les jardins du Château d'Hex sont ouverts au grand public. Profitez de nos magnifiques jardins et visitez les nombreux stands de nos exposants. Plus d'info

Suivez nous

Suivez Hex sur Facebook ou profitez des photos de saison des jardins de Hex sur Instagram.

Histoires récentes

© 2021 Kasteel Hex - Alle rechten voorbehouden