The park

WALK THROUGH THE PARK
Outside the walled gardens of castle Hex you will find a large landscaped park of the 19th century, which has taken the place of the disappeared English gardens. The walk is usually started at the western entrance gate of the formal garden. From there a path bends right to the pond. On the way you already have a first view of the green valley with solitary trees. Further on, one can opt for a steep climb under the foliage to the panorama at the wedding column, or one returns via the bridge and the hidden caves to the platanendreef.
Note: The park is not always accessible to the public. The walks are only possible during the garden and plant days in June and September, or by appointment.

HISTORY
Around 1770, a number of English gardens were laid out by Velbrück, which were one of the first of their kind on the European mainland, between the French gardens and the Sablon mountain. In contrast to French-style gardens, these English gardens were characterized by winding paths and curved lines. Solitary trees and flowering bushes were seemingly haphazardly distributed over the gardens. Various people came along the route through the gardens folly's or 'factories' against: small structures in different styles that had to evoke a certain atmosphere.
The landscape designer Louis Fuchs redesigned the castle park in the 1880s and made it into a large landscaped park according to the spirit of his time, as it is now unchanged. Some of the elements present date from the 18th century. The biggest achievement of Fuchs is the elongated green valley that ends at the pond. For this the existing landscape was deepened and raised to the result that can still be admired today.

platanendreef


THE VIEWS
Next to the pond, a dike was erected in 1890 for the construction of a driveway from the Lod. Lavkistraat. This hidden entrance between the Yews is in fact the official entrance to the castle. The straight avenue of brown beech is the ideal backdrop for entering the French garden.
The drift of plane trees on the east side of the estate is almost two kilometers long and reaches all the way to Bommershoven. In the shadow of the plane trees, the exhibitors and growers set up their tents twice a year for a cozy plant festival.

to the rose collection 

SAMSUNG CSC

© 2020 Garden Festival Hex - Alle rechten voorbehouden

Le parc

Promenade dans le parc
En dehors des jardins murés du château Hex, vous trouverez un grand parc paysager du 19ème siècle, qui a pris la place des jardins anglais disparus. La promenade commence généralement à la porte d’entrée ouest du jardin à la française. À partir de là, un sentier mène jusqu'à l'étang. Sur le chemin, vous avez déjà une première vue de la vallée verte avec des arbres solitaires. Plus loin, on peut opter pour une montée raide sous le feuillage jusqu'au panorama sur la colonne des mariages, ou on retourne par le pont et les grottes cachées au platanendreef.
Remarque: le parc n'est pas toujours accessible au public. Les promenades ne sont possibles que pendant la journées jardin et plantes en juin et septembre, ou sur rendez-vous.

HISTOIRE
Vers 1770, Velbrück aménagea un certain nombre de jardins à l'anglaise, l'un des premiers du genre sur le continent européen, entre les jardins à la française et le mont Sablon. Contrairement aux jardins à la française, ces jardins anglais se caractérisent par des chemins sinueux et des lignes courbes. Des arbres solitaires et des arbustes à fleurs étaient apparemment distribués au hasard dans les jardins. Plusieurs personnes sont venues le long de la route à travers les jardins la folie ou "usines" contre: petites structures de styles différents qui devaient évoquer une certaine atmosphère.
Le paysagiste Louis Fuchs a redessiné le parc du château dans les années 1880 et l'a transformé en un grand parc paysager en accord avec l'esprit de son temps, car il n'a pas changé. Certains des éléments présents remontent au 18ème siècle. La plus grande réalisation de Fuchs est la vallée verte allongée qui se termine à l’étang. Pour cela, le paysage existant a été approfondi et élevé jusqu'à un résultat que l'on peut encore admirer aujourd'hui.

platanendreef


LES VUES
À côté de l'étang, une digue a été érigée en 1890 pour la construction d'une allée du Lod. Lavkistraat. Cette entrée cachée entre les Yews est en fait l'entrée officielle du château. L’avenue droite du hêtre brun constitue le décor idéal pour entrer dans le jardin à la française.
La dérive des platanes sur le côté est de la propriété fait presque deux kilomètres de long et s'étend jusqu'à Bommershoven. À l'ombre des platanes, les exposants et les producteurs installent leurs tentes deux fois par an pour un agréable festival de plantes.

à la collection de roses 

SAMSUNG CSC

© 2020 Garden Festival Hex - Alle rechten voorbehouden