Een verhaal van rozen

De geschiedenis van Hex is altijd een verhaal geweest van rozen: van de oudste rozensoorten van het landgoed – rozen die prins-bisschop de Velbrück in de 18de eeuw uit China liet importeren door de Verenigde Oost-Indische Compagnieën – tot de rozen in ‘de kleine rozentuin’, waar gravin Nanda d’Ursel haar verzameling begon in de jaren negentig van de vorige eeuw. In de laatste halve eeuw is de rozencollectie van kasteel Hex steeds meer uitgebreid. Er staan naar schatting 1400 rozen verspreid in de tuinen van Hex, waarvan zo’n 500 verschillende soorten. De rozen zijn aanwezig in formele perken en in de  mixed borders, als grote solitairen, of  groeien over de hekken, werpen zich over de balustrade en klimmen tussen de muren en de bomen…..

Hex 271 rose collection 774x356 copyright HEX

THE ALPHABETICAL REGISTER: het werk van generaties…

The mapping of the historic roses of Hex Castle was done with passionate attention and dedication by the late Countess Nanda d'Ursel. She made sketches and described the most special roses in her garden script. Later she met Edith Dasnoy who, together with her watercolors, made the most beautiful species. Together they published the book "Roses from the Gardens of Hex" ... The book is still for sale during the garden days at the stand of Hex.

Hex 272 rose collection 742x210 copyright Hex

Wild roses occur throughout the northern hemisphere, from the Arctic to Northern Africa, from the American plains and New Mexico to Yemen, Thailand, South India and China.
In the regions of Western Europe, species of the Dog Rose and the Hedgehog are native - about thirty species - but more than 200 wild rose species are known worldwide. On the flower meadow you will find the wild rose species that are characteristic of the flora of the region Limburg and Brabant.

Hex 272 Multiflora Hybrids Unidentified 800x600 copyright Hex-BernardLafaut-MiltonNurse

Furthermore, numerous wild exotics are scattered throughout the Hex gardens. There are a number of species of the Chinese Rosa banksiae near the fig-garden and the species of the Scottish Rosa pimpinellifolia are in a row behind the tennis court. Nearby is also the Rosa sericea pteracantha, with its striking winged thorns, which originates from Nepal.  Hex-272-Pimpinellifolia-800x600-copyright-HexRosa Mutabilis stands at the door of the vegetable cellar. Later Rosa roxburgii - both also imported from China. Here and there you will see climbers of botanical origin climbing the garden fences, against the walls or in the trees: Rosa arvensis, Rosa multiflora, Rosa filipes 'Kiftsgate' and the impressive Paul's Hymalaian Musk at the front of the castle.

The botanical species with their wild clusters and their exuberant blossoms are almost unbeatable in charm and beauty. But thanks to the centuries-old culture of the rose, its exchange between the regions and the continents and the numerous crossings that this brought with it, we now know an almost innumerable number of roses in all possible variations.

Hex 272 Rosa gallica officinalis 800x600 copyright Hex-BernardLafaut-MiltonNurseIt is difficult to say when the French rose (Rosa gallica) was introduced for the first time in our regions. It occurs naturally in France and further to the East in southern Europe to Turkey. In her long history of culture many variations have arisen from the French rose. Hex 272 Rosa Gallica Souvenir the Spa 800x600 copyright Hex-BernardLafaut-MiltonNurseThey are all pink, flame red to deep violet, they bloom only once a year,
but they are very popular for their special perfume. In the gardens of Hex we see, besides the original wild form, some dozens of the most beautiful Gallica's collected, including Tricolor de Flandres, De la Maître d'École, Alain Blanchard, Charles de Mills and many others.

The white or soft pink Alba-rose was probably already cultivated with the Greeks and the Ancient Romans. It is a crossing of one of the dog roses with a Gallica or possibly a Damascener rose. The growth of the Alba's is different from that of the Gallica's. Hex 272 Rosa Alba Maiden's Blush 800x600 copyright Hex-BernardLafaut-MiltonNurseThey throw long, flexible branches, which, incidentally, have few thorns. The leaves have a bluish appearance and the flowers smell sweet. The most beautiful specimens, represented in Hex, are Celestial, Königin von Dänemark or Great Maiden's Blush (also once called 'Cuisse de Nymph'). They only know one bloom in the year. The Alba's, together with the Gallica's, are largely grouped downstairs in the vegetable garden, in the long border that stretches alongside the sheep pasture, from the conservatory to the old well.

A third old family in the roses is the group of the Damascene roses. They are crosses of the Rosa gallica with other wild species from the Mediterranean Sea area such as Rosa phoenicea or Rosa moschata. The Herst-Damascene rose is special because it is the first to have a second bloom in late summer. The Damascene roses are significantly less hardy than the Gallica's. They grow tall and throw loose bunches of sweet-smelling large flowers in the colors red, white or pink.

The Centifola or Provenceroos was only born in the 16th century from a crossing of a Herst-Damascener with a Rosa Alba. The group was sterile for a long time and was propagated with cuttings, until in the 19th century a fertile species arose that could be further crossed. In addition to the original Centifolia we find Petite de Hollande and Pompon de Bourgogne in the garden of Hex. The rosebushes of the Centifolia family are characterized by their thick, filled flowers that are slightly closed - if they are also called Cabbage Rose in England. Other names for this rose are Dutch rose or Rose de Peintre, because of its success with the Dutch masters of the 17th century.

The Centifolia-Mos roses originated as a spontaneous deviation on normal Centrifolia boxes. The first is mentioned in 1720. Hex 272 MosrosTuscany Superb 800x600 copyright Hex-BernardLafaut-MiltonNurseThe Centifolia moss is characterized by the presence of numerous scented glandular hairs on the flower stalks. The growth method is somewhat stiff, but that is compensated by the special character of the flower. The roses are very aromatic and the colors are deep-violet or dramatically dark. Behind the double row of peonies in the vegetable garden are William Lob, Nuits de Young, Tuscany Superb and a dozen other exponents of this family.

Hex 272 Rosa chinensis multipetala 800x600 copyright Hex

In China, roses have been grown for centuries and have been crossed into new cultivars. The first Chinese roses came to our region in the year 1792. The Rosa chinensis multipetala, which is still in the prinsenhof, is one of the first to be transported from China by the Dutch East India Company - according to tradition - at the special request of prince-bishop the Velbrück. In addition, you will also find Rosa indica rubra and an 'Old Blush' at the prinsenhof from that time.

Hex-272-Rosa-indica-rubra-800x600-copyright-HexOn the island of Bourbon, an important mooring place for merchant ships - halfway on the route between Europe and the Far East, members of the Herst-Damascerenroos family met the Chinese rose (Rosa chinensis) in the 17th century. From the necessary crossings that followed, the Bourbon rose, which later was bred by crosses with Gallica and Damascene hybrids. The family of the Bourbon roses has a good re-flowering in the late summer. The flowers are often half-filled and light-pink. In the garden of Hex you will find them mainly in the vicinity of the tennis court: Mme. Isaac Pereire, Louise Odier, La reine Victoria and others.

The Tea Box (Rosa odorata) is a Chinese rose that has long been in culture in China. She is called Tea Box because the flower smells slightly to tea. Intersections of the Tea Box with Noisette and Bourbon Roses yielded a whole new family of blooming Hybrid tea roses, which today is mainly known as a daisy. They are mainly in the beds in the conservatory in Hex.

Hex 272 Austin roses Chaucer 800x600 copyright Hex-BernardLafaut-MiltonNurseAt the conservatory is also the roses of the English rose grower David Austin. He has succeeded in uniting the best of two families.
The romantic view and smell of the old Gallica's, Alba'a, Centifolia and Boubonros with the blooming character of the modern Tea hybrids.

Hex 272 Moschata hybrids from Lens Waterloo 800x600 copyright Hex-BernardLafaut-MiltonNurseLouis Lens, Belgian arborist and rose breeder, was a good friend of the late Countess Nanda d'Ursel. Lens turned a goose new direction with growing roses for grasslands and public gardens. To be Moschata hybrids have been sold all over the world. On Hex one still finds copies of his tests, some of which have never reached the trade, for example in the row next to the caves. But also in the vegetable garden and in the so-called friend garden next to the terraces, you can find some of his finest creations.

Hex 272 Polyantha 800x600 copyright HexCountess Nanda d'Ursel also had a weakness for the small bunches of roses Polyantha family. We find them back in the vegetable garden; in long rows for the peonies and in the beds around the basin. The Polyanthas (or miniature roses) are descendants from complex crosses of Chinese roses with Centifolias, Bourbon roses or old Tea hybrids.

 

Finally, there is the Geschwind-rosarium that was planted in 2012 at the old Cedar, at the back of the platanendreef. Besides the well-known 'Zigeunerknabe' the collection contains a few dozen unknown and forgotten ones rose varieties from Rudolf Geschwind from the beginning of the 20th century, collected from old gardens and the rosaries of Western and Eastern Europe. Geschwind roses are characterized by their natural character and resistance to all weather conditions. This rose collection is intended as a gene bank for future breeders.

SAMSUNG CSC

 

NEW ROSES THAT REFER TO HEX:

Hex is particularly proud that in June 2013, due to the 20th anniversary of the Garden Days, a number of loyal exhibitor breeders named new rose selections and winnings after Hex.
- Rosa 'Gardens of Hex' - Lens Roses
- Rosa 'Kasteel Hex' - Peter Beales Roses
- Rosa 'Rebel of Hex' - Beer Creek
- Rosa 'Spirit of Hex' - Vierländer Rosenhof

In 2016 a new rose was christened to countess Stéphanie d'Ursel, hostess and protector of the historic gardens of castle Hex:

Rosa 'Countess Stéphanie d'Ursel' - Lens Roses

INTERESTING LINKS:

Rose experts and botanists:
- The maker of the rose-web encyclopedia Roger Phillips
- Botanist, writer and scientist Martin Rix

Rose growers:
- The Classic Roses of Peter Beales (England)
- The newest rose varieties of Lens Roses (Belgium)
- Old varieties Daniël Schmitz (Belgium)
- Organically grown roses from De Bierkreek (The Netherlands)
- The endless assortment of Vierländer (Germany)
- The own varieties of Oreye Roses (Belgium)

 

 

watch here:  the alphabetical register of rose names from Hex.

watch here: the report 'la creation d'une rose' (pink Stéphanie d'Ursel)

 

 

Give your opinion

Garden Festival Hex

Jaarlijks in juni en september openen de tuinen van Kasteel Hex zich voor het grote publiek. Geniet van onze mooie tuinen en bezoek de vele standjes van onze talrijke exposanten. Meer Info.

Follow us

Follow Hex on facebook or enjoy seasonal photos from the Hex gardens on Instagram.

Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and stay informed!

Recent Stories

© 2019 Garden Festival Hex - All rights reserved

Een verhaal van rozen

De geschiedenis van Hex is altijd een verhaal geweest van rozen: van de oudste rozensoorten van het landgoed – rozen die prins-bisschop de Velbrück in de 18de eeuw uit China liet importeren door de Verenigde Oost-Indische Compagnieën – tot de rozen in ‘de kleine rozentuin’, waar gravin Nanda d’Ursel haar verzameling begon in de jaren negentig van de vorige eeuw. In de laatste halve eeuw is de rozencollectie van kasteel Hex steeds meer uitgebreid. Er staan naar schatting 1400 rozen verspreid in de tuinen van Hex, waarvan zo’n 500 verschillende soorten. De rozen zijn aanwezig in formele perken en in de  mixed borders, als grote solitairen, of  groeien over de hekken, werpen zich over de balustrade en klimmen tussen de muren en de bomen…..

Hex 271 rose collection 774x356 copyright HEX

LE REGISTRE ALPHABÉTIQUE: het werk van generaties…

La regrettée comtesse Nanda d'Ursel a cartographié les roses historiques de Hex Castle. Elle a fait des croquis et décrit les roses les plus spéciales de son scénario de jardin. Plus tard, elle rencontra Edith Dasnoy qui, avec ses aquarelles, créait la plus belle espèce. Ensemble, ils ont publié le livre "Les roses des jardins de Hex" ... Le livre est toujours en vente pendant les journées de jardinage au stand de Hex.

Hex 272 Rose Collection 742x210 Droits d'auteur Hex

Roses sauvages sont présents dans tout l'hémisphère nord, de l'Arctique à l'Afrique du Nord, des plaines américaines et du Nouveau-Mexique au Yémen, en Thaïlande, en Inde du Sud et en Chine.
Dans les régions d'Europe occidentale, les espèces de la rose des chiens et du hérisson sont indigènes - une trentaine d'espèces - mais plus de 200 espèces de roses sauvages sont connues dans le monde entier. Sur le pré de fleurs, vous trouverez les espèces de roses sauvages caractéristiques de la flore de la région du Limbourg et du Brabant.

Hex 272 Hybrides multiflores non identifiés 800x600 copyright Hex-BernardLafaut-MiltonNurse

En outre, de nombreuses espèces exotiques sauvages sont dispersées dans les jardins de Hex. Il y a un certain nombre d'espèces de Rosa banksiae chinois près du jardin de figuiers et les espèces de Rosa pimpinellifolia écossaise sont alignées derrière le court de tennis. A proximité se trouve également la Rosa sericea pteracantha, avec ses épines ailées saisissantes, originaires du Népal.  Hex-272-Pimpinellifolia-800x600-copyright-HexRosa Mutabilis se tient à la porte de la cave à légumes. Plus tard, Rosa roxburgii - tous deux également importés de Chine. Ici et là, vous verrez des alpinistes d’origine botanique escalader les barrières de jardin, contre les murs ou dans les arbres: Rosa arvensis, Rosa multiflora, Rosa filipes 'Kiftsgate' et l’impressionnant musc hymalien Paul sur le devant du château.

Le espèces botaniques avec leurs grappes sauvages et leurs fleurs exubérantes sont presque imbattables en charme et en beauté. Mais grâce à la culture séculaire de la rose, à ses échanges entre les régions et les continents et aux nombreux passages que cela a occasionnés, nous connaissons maintenant un nombre presque innombrable de roses dans toutes leurs variations possibles.

Hex 272 Rosa gallica officinalis 800x600 copyright Hex-BernardLafaut-MiltonInfirmièreIl est difficile de dire quand le Rose française (Rosa gallica) a été introduite pour la première fois dans nos régions. Il se produit naturellement en France et plus à l'est dans le sud de l'Europe jusqu'en Turquie. Dans sa longue histoire de culture, de nombreuses variations sont apparues à partir de la rose française. Hex 272 Rosa Gallica Souvenir du Spa 800x600 copyright Hex-BernardLafaut-MiltonInfirmièreIls sont tous roses, rouge feu à violet foncé, ils ne fleurissent qu'une fois par an,
mais ils sont très populaires pour leur parfum spécial. Dans les jardins de Hex, nous voyons, outre la forme sauvage originale, quelques dizaines des plus belles collections de Gallica, dont Tricolor de Flandres, De maître d’école, Alain Blanchard, Charles de Mills et bien d’autres.

Le blanc ou rose tendre Alba-Rose était probablement déjà cultivé avec les Grecs et les Romains. Il s’agit du croisement d’une des roses de chien avec une rose ou éventuellement une rose de Damascener. La croissance de l'Alba est différente de celle de la Gallica. Hex 272 Rosa Alba Blush de jeune fille 800x600 copyright Hex-BernardLafaut-MiltonInfirmièreIls lancent de longues branches flexibles, qui ont d'ailleurs peu d'épines. Les feuilles ont un aspect bleuâtre et les fleurs sentent bon. Les plus beaux spécimens, représentés dans Hex, sont Celestial, Königin von Dänemark ou Great Maiden's Blush (également appelé «Cuisse de Nymph»). Ils ne connaissent qu'une seule floraison dans l'année. Les Alba et les Gallica sont en grande partie regroupées dans le potager, dans la longue bordure qui s'étend à côté du pâturage des moutons, du conservatoire au vieux puits.

Une troisième famille âgée dans les roses est le groupe des Roses damascènes. Ce sont des croisements de Rosa gallica avec d'autres espèces sauvages de la mer Méditerranée telles que Rosa phoenicea ou Rosa moschata. La rose de Herst-Damascene est spéciale car elle est la première à avoir une deuxième floraison en fin d’été. Les roses de Damascene sont nettement moins robustes que celles de Gallica. Ils grandissent et jettent des bouquets lâches de grandes fleurs odorantes dans les couleurs rouge, blanc ou rose.

Le Centifola ou Provenceroos est né seulement au 16ème siècle d'un croisement d'un Herst-Damascener avec un Rosa Alba. Le groupe a longtemps été stérile et s'est multiplié par bouturage jusqu'à ce qu'au 19ème siècle apparaisse une espèce fertile qui puisse être croisée davantage. En plus de l'original Centifolia, nous trouvons Petite de Hollande et Pompon de Bourgogne dans le jardin de Hex. Les rosiers de la famille Centifolia se caractérisent par leurs fleurs épaisses et garnies, légèrement fermées - s’ils s’appellent également Cabbage Rose en Angleterre. Les autres noms de cette rose sont Dutch Rose ou Rose de Peintre, en raison de son succès auprès des maîtres hollandais du 17ème siècle.

Le Roses Centifolia-Mos est apparu spontanément sur des boîtes Centrifolia normales. Le premier est mentionné en 1720. Hex 272 MosrosTuscany Superbe 800x600 copyright Hex-BernardLafaut-MiltonInfirmièreLa mousse Centifolia est caractérisée par la présence de nombreux poils glandulaires parfumés sur les tiges des fleurs. La méthode de croissance est un peu raide, mais cela est compensé par le caractère spécial de la fleur. Les roses sont très aromatiques et les couleurs sont violet foncé ou extrêmement foncé. William Lob, les Nuits de Young, Tuscany Superb et une douzaine d’exposants de la famille se trouvent derrière la double rangée de pivoines du potager.

Hex 272 Rosa chinensis multipetala 800x600 copyright Hex

En Chine, les roses ont été cultivées pendant des siècles et ont été transformées en de nouveaux cultivars. Le premier Roses chinoises est arrivé dans notre région en 1792. Le Rosa chinensis multipetala, qui fait toujours partie du prinsenhof, est l'un des premiers à être transporté de Chine par la Compagnie néerlandaise des Indes orientales - selon la tradition - à la demande particulière du prince-évêque le Velbrück. En outre, vous trouverez également Rosa indica rubra et un "Old Blush" au prinsenhof de cette époque.

Hex-272-Rosa-indica-rubra-800x600-copyright-HexSur l'île de Bourbon, important lieu d'amarrage pour les navires de commerce - à mi-chemin de la route entre l'Europe et l'Extrême-Orient, des membres de la famille Herst-Damascerenroos ont rencontré la rose chinoise (Rosa chinensis) au XVIIe siècle. Des passages nécessaires qui ont suivi, le Bourbon Rose, qui a ensuite été élevé par croisements avec des hybrides Gallica et Damascene. La famille des roses Bourbon a une bonne renaissance à la fin de l’été. Les fleurs sont souvent à moitié remplies et rose pâle. Dans le jardin de Hex, vous les trouverez principalement dans les environs du court de tennis: Mme. Isaac Pereire, Louise Odier, La Reine Victoria et autres.

La boîte à thé (Rosa odorata) est une rose de Chine cultivée depuis longtemps en Chine. Elle s'appelle Tea Box car la fleur sent légèrement le thé. Les intersections de la boîte à thé avec Noisette et Bourbon Roses ont donné naissance à une toute nouvelle famille de fleurs Roses à thé hybrides, qui est aujourd'hui principalement connu comme une pâquerette. Ils sont principalement dans les lits du conservatoire de Hex.

Hex 272 Austin roses Chaucer 800x600 copyright Hex-BernardLafaut-MiltonInfirmièreAu conservatoire se trouvent également les roses du cultivateur de roses anglais David Austin. Il a réussi à réunir le meilleur de deux familles.
La vue romantique et l'odeur des vieilles Gallica, Alba'a, Centifolia et Boubonros avec le caractère épanoui des hybrides de thé modernes.

Les hybrides Hex 272 Moschata de Lens Waterloo 800x600 copyright Hex-BernardLafaut-MiltonNurseLouis Lens, arboriste et cultivateur de roses belge, était un bon ami de feu la comtesse Nanda d'Ursel. Lens a pris une nouvelle direction avec la culture de roses pour les prairies et les jardins publics. Sont Hybrides de Moschata ont été vendus partout dans le monde. Sur Hex, on trouve encore des copies de ses tests, dont certaines n’ont jamais atteint le commerce, par exemple dans la rangée à côté des grottes. Mais aussi dans le potager et dans le soi-disant jardin des amis à côté des terrasses, vous pouvez trouver certaines de ses plus belles créations.

Hex 272 Polyantha 800x600 copyright HexLa comtesse Nanda d'Ursel avait aussi un faible pour les petites grappes de roses Famille Polyantha. Nous les retrouvons dans le potager; en longues rangées pour les pivoines et dans les parterres autour du bassin. Les Polyanthas (ou roses miniatures) sont les descendants de croisements complexes de roses chinoises avec des Centifolias, des roses Bourbon ou d'anciens hybrides de thé.

 

Enfin, il y a le Geschwind-rosarium qui a été planté en 2012 dans l'ancien cèdre, à l'arrière du platanendreef. Outre le bien connu 'Zigeunerknabe', la collection contient quelques dizaines de livres inconnus et oubliés. variétés de roses de Rudolf Geschwind à partir du début du 20ème siècle, récolté dans de vieux jardins et les chapelets d’Europe occidentale et orientale. Les roses Geschwind se caractérisent par leur caractère naturel et leur résistance à toutes les conditions météorologiques. Cette collection de roses est conçue comme une banque de gènes pour les futurs sélectionneurs.

SAMSUNG CSC

 

NOUVELLES ROSES QUI SE RÉFÉRENT À HEX:

Hex est particulièrement fier du fait qu'en juin 2013, à l'occasion du 20e anniversaire des Garden Days, plusieurs éleveurs exposants fidèles ont nommé leurs nouvelles sélections de roses et leurs gains après Hex.
- Rosa 'Jardins d'Hex' - Roses Lens
- Rosa 'Kasteel Hex' - Roses Peter Beales
- Rosa 'Rebel of Hex' - Bière Creek
- Rosa 'Spirit of Hex' - Vierländer Rosenhof

En 2016, une nouvelle rose a été baptisée à la comtesse Stéphanie d'Ursel, hôtesse et protectrice des jardins historiques du château Hex:

Rosa 'Comtesse Stéphanie d'Ursel' - Roses Lens

LIENS INTERESSANTS:

Rose experts et botanistes:
- Le fabricant de l'encyclopédie Rose-Web Roger Phillips
- Botaniste, écrivain et scientifique Martin Rix

Producteurs de roses:
- Les roses classiques de Peter Beales (L 'Angleterre)
- Les nouvelles variétés de roses de Roses Lens (Belgique)
- Anciennes variétés Daniël Schmitz (Belgique)
- Roses biologiques issues de De Bierkreek (Les Pays-Bas)
- L'assortiment sans fin de Vierländer (Allemagne)
- Les propres variétés de Oreye Roses (Belgique)

 

 

voir ici:  le registre alphabétique des noms de roses de Hex.

voir ici: le reportage 'la création d'une rose' (rose Stéphanie d'Ursel)

 

 

Donnez votre avis

Journée des plantes à Hex

Jaarlijks in juni en september openen de tuinen van Kasteel Hex zich voor het grote publiek. Geniet van onze mooie tuinen en bezoek de vele standjes van onze talrijke exposanten. Meer Info.

Suivez nous

Suivez Hex sur Facebook ou profitez des photos de saison des jardins de Hex sur Instagram.

Bulletin d'information

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter et restez informé!

Histoires récentes

© 2019 Garden Festival Hex - Tous droits réservés.