Our History

Hex 230 park 1140x100 copyright Hex

Limburgs Haspengouw has a landscape with gently rolling hills, green meadows, fertile fields, orchards and tufts of forest. The Liege Prince Bishop Karel van Velbrück chose this spacious landscape to create an earthly paradise, an 'Arcadia' according to the taste and philosophy of the 18th century. The hill that extends above the village was equated to a large terrace on which a hunting pavilion was built, where formal or style gardens were laid out. The remaining hills formed a suitable terrain for creating a landscape park.

A princely estate unveiled
The art historian Chris de Maegd was the first to make an in-depth study on the history of Hex, the construction and developments of the park and the gardens - from the origins, through flourishing and turbulent times of the 19th and 20th century, to today's situation. . The story of her search for the history of the estate was published in book form in 2007, with beautiful original prints and photographs illustrated and reads like a novel.

FROM VELBRUCK TO D'URSEL
Castle Hex was built by the prince-bishop of Liège, Franz-Karl von Velbrück, in the years between 1770 and the year of his death in 1784. After his death the estate came to the Marchant d'Ansembourg family by inheritance. When the last d'Ansembourg died childless, the estate was inherited by the d'Ursel family. The current residents are the second and third generation d'Ursel on Hex. Count Ghislain and Countess Stéphanie d'Ursel still manage the estate in the spirit of the builder of yesteryear.

An enlightened prince

Karel van Velbrück was born in 1719 at the castle Garath near Düsseldorf. His family belonged to the Westphalian nobility and his parents provided for him an ecclesiastical career. After graduating from law, Velbrück came to Liège as a young canon and quickly held important positions in the administration of the principality. In 1772 he was elected prince-bishop. His policy was that of an enlightened monarch, won for the ideas of freedom and tolerance. In him, arts, literature, science and education were a great promoter.

THE ESTATE
Central to the estate is the castle with its walled gardens and park. To the west of the castle, in the valley of Broekom, is the farm of Manshoven with its rich pastures and meadows and covered in the back by the beautiful Manshoven forest. To the east of the castle, in the middle of the fertile plateau, lies farm Monnikkenhof with its vast fields. A third farm is located on the Hekslaan opposite the castle. Furthermore, on the Hekslaan you will find a number of beautiful old houses in the rural style of the 19th century, such as the nunnery and the old sawmill. Finally, the old water mill, located lower in the village on the banks of the Herk, belongs to the estate.

The walking route
Along Monnikkenhof, water mill and Manshoven. 
Click here for the map of the walking route of 6km, 9km or 12km.
Starting point at restaurant and bistro De Horne.

THE CASTLE
According to tradition, the castle was built according to the plans of the Liège architect Etienne Fayen. For the execution Velbrück attracted the best craftsmen from Liège, Lorraine and Italy. The castle itself is a U-shaped construction in red brick with window frames in Namur limestone. There is a floor, covered with a mansard roof. The sober building has as its only decoration a triangular pediment with in relief the hunting goddess Diana.

Ornamental gardens of HexTHE JEWELERY GARDENS
Velbrück had a number of formal ornamental gardens built in the immediate vicinity of his castle during the construction of the castle around 1780. At the front, which was then the southeast side, the entrance from the south, where Liège is located, was decorated in French style with flower beds on both sides of the road. On the other side of the castle came the walled parterregardens and in addition, on the slope opposite the village, the lower-lying utility gardens. Little is known about how the situation evolved during the next generation. In 1871 the garden and landscape architect Louis Fuchs redefined the formal garden on the honorary war. Fuchs was also responsible for the construction of the English landscape park with the large sight axes. The formal garden that was previously laid out in various terraces and decorated with broderies, flat-bandes with flowers, exotic eye-catchers and numerous vases, benches and rose arches was leveled and greatly simplified. In 1913, the Brussels landscape architect Jules Janlet was commissioned by the then Count d'Ansembourg to redraw both the old formal garden, the prince garden, and the front garden. He re-informed the formal garden, taking into account the existing longitudinal and transverse axis. The attention to straight lines, balanced proportions and the use of geometric figures such as the half arch are typical of Janlet's style. The three wide terraces on the southeastern side of the castle also date to him, when they are decorated with bright floral beds, and the geometric layout of the prinsenhof as we know it today. The terraces were redesigned in 1992 to a drawing by the Antwerp garden architect Jaques Wirtz. The flower beds with annuals made way for a suitably tight design of lawns, shaved yew blocks and surfaces of dolomite grit.

Hex 235 utility gardens 800x600 copyright Hex PSGstudio9825

THE NUTSTUINEN
The original terraced construction of the gardens of Castle Hex is best preserved in the nut gardens. The vegetable garden is completely walled and, lower than the castle and the formal gardens, lies in parallel levels against the slope. In 1774 there was a row of village houses next to the Hekslaan, including the presbytery. The houses were demolished and the vicarage was rebuilt on the other side of the street. The works were completed around the year 1790. Since then little has changed in the layout of the utility gardens. The high retaining wall on the north-east side is 250 meters long and is still used as a fruit wall. It is at the foot of the wall rabat, the so-called 'collar' of the garden. The central level is occupied by the beds with vegetables and flowers. The lowest level on the street side is like an orchard where the sheep graze. There you will also find the old well that the vegetable garden had to provide with water. In the northwestern part of the garden there are the greenhouses and the garden. The 18th century vegetable cellar is hidden behind a door in retaining wall, in the eastern part of the garden, hidden among the climbing roses.

The lost English gardens of HexTHE LOST ENGLISH GARDENS
In the years before his death in 1784, prince-bishop Velbrück had a garden complex built outside the walls of the formal gardens into a completely new concept. The so-called English gardens were only in fashion and Velbrück was one of the first to work according to the new principles of these 'natural' or irregular gardens. The concept of his then English court is still far from what we know today as the English romantic garden style, but the style break with French-inspired rococo tradition was significant. The gardens were laid out in a large rectangle, located between the French garden and the Zavelberg, and surrounded by a hedge. Winding roads led the visitor through passages in the forest parts from one garden room to another. The lawn edges were exaggerated and here and there stood solitary trees, low groups of woody plants (forest quests) with flowering plants and park constructions. There is not much left of this English Court. More so, we do not even know to what extent the original plans have been implemented. But the tone was set; the English Court laid a cautious foundation for the large landscaped park as we know it today.

THE PARK
The German landscape designer who left for Brussels Hex 237 park 750x531 copyright HexIn 1871, Louis Fuchs was commissioned by the then castle lord Alfred I d'Ansembourg to redraw the park and the surroundings of the castle in the landscape style of that moment. In the ten years that followed, the old pine forests were cut down, the relief adjusted, new quarries were planted and large lawns were laid out. Today, the elongated valley of Fuchs with its slightly undulating character and its singular solitary and tree groups is one of the main attractions of the estate and a textbook example of a landscape park, moreover almost intact.

Hex 230 park 1140x100 copyright Hex

 

© 2020 Garden Festival Hex - Alle rechten voorbehouden

Notre histoire

La Hesbaye présente un paysage de collines légèrement vallonnées, des prairies verdoyantes, des champs fertiles, des vergers et de belles forêts. Le prince de Liège, Mgr Charles de Velbrück, a choisi ce vaste paysage pour créer un paradis terrestre, une 'Arcadie' selon le goût et la philosophie du XVIIIe siècle. Il a fait construire un pavillon de chasse sur la colline qui s'étend au -dessus du village ainsi que des jardins à la française. Mettant à profit les douces pentes du relief, Il aménagea aussi un parc paysager.

Un domaine princier dévoilé
L’historienne de l’art, Chris de Maegd, a été la première à mener une étude approfondie de l’histoire de Hex, de la construction et de l’aménagement du parc et des jardins - des origines à la situation actuelle, en passant par les périodes de prospérité et de turbulences des XIXe et XXe siècles. Le résultat de sa recherche sur le domaine a été publié sous forme de livre en 2007, avec de belles estampes et photographies originales illustrées qui se lit comme un roman.

DE VELBRUCK AUX D'URSEL
Le château de Hex a été construit par le prince-évêque de Liège, Charles de Velbrück, entre 1770 et 1784, l'année de sa mort. Après son décès, le domaine fut transmis à la famille de Marchant d'Ansembourg. Quand le dernier d'Ansembourg mourut sans enfant, la famille d'Ursel hérita de la propriété. Les résidents actuels sont les deuxième et troisième générations d'Ursel à Hex. La Comte Ghislain et la Comtesse Stéphanie d'Ursel gèrent toujours le domaine dans l'esprit du fondateur de la maison.

Un prince éclairé

Charles de Velbrück est né en 1719 au château de Garath, près de Düsseldorf. Sa famille appartenait à la noblesse westphalienne et ses parents projetaient pour lui une carrière ecclésiastique. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme en droit, Velbrück est arrivé à Liège en tant que jeune chanoine et a rapidement occupé des postes importants dans l'administration de la principauté. En 1772, il fut élu prince-évêque. Sa politique était celle d'un monarque éclairé, conquis pour les idées de liberté et de tolérance. Il fut un grand promoteur des arts, de la littérature, de la science et de l'éducation.

LE DOMAINE
Le château, avec ses jardins et son parc clos de murs, occupe une position centrale dans le domaine. À l'ouest du château, dans la vallée de Broekom, se trouve la ferme de Manshoven avec ses riches pâturages, ses prairies et couverte à l'arrière par la belle forêt de Manshoven. À l'est du château, au milieu du plateau d'une terre très fertile, se trouve la ferme Monnikkenhof avec ses vastes champs. Une troisième ferme est située en face du château. En outre, sur la Hekslaan, vous trouverez un certain nombre de belles vieilles maisons de style rural du 19ème siècle, telles que la station, l'école et l’ancienne scierie. Enfin, l’ancien moulin à eau, situé plus bas dans le village sur les rives du Herk, appartient aussi au domaine.

L' itinéraire à pied
Une promenade le long du Monnikkenhof, moulin et Manshoven. 
Trouver ici le plan du parcours randonnées de 6 km, 9 km ou 12 km.
Point de départ et retour au bistro De Horne.

LE CHÂTEAU
Selon la tradition, le château a été construit selon les plans de l'architecte liégeois Etienne Fayen. Pour l'exécution de son projet , Velbrück a demandé les meilleurs artisans de Liège, de Lorraine et d'Italie. Le château lui-même est une construction en brique rouge en forme de U avec des cadres de fenêtres en calcaire de Namur. Il y a un seul étage, le second est recouvert d'un toit en mansarde. Le bâtiment est sobre et a pour unique décoration un fronton triangulaire avec en relief Diane chasseresse.

LES JARDINS FORMELS
Lors de la construction du château vers 1780, Velbrück fit construire plusieurs jardins formels à proximité immédiate de la maison. A l'avant, qui était alors du côté sud-est, où se situe Liège, les terrasses étaient décorées à la française avec des parterres de fleurs des deux côtés du chemin. De l'autre côté du château vinrent les parterresentourés de murs et ensuite, sur le versant opposé au village, le potager en contrebas. En 1871, l'architecte paysagiste Louis Fuchs redéfinit le jardin formel de la cour d'honneur. Fuchs est également responsable de l'aménagement du parc paysager anglais doté de grands axes de vues. Le jardin à la française qui était aménagé auparavant sur plusieurs terrasses était décoré de broderies, de plates bandes fleuries , de plantes exotiques et de nombreux vases, de bancs et arcades de roses : il fut nivelé et grandement simplifié au fil des ans. En 1913 l'architecte paysagiste Jules Janlet fut chargé par le Comte d'Ansembourg de redessiner l'ancien jardin à la française, le jardin du prince et les terrasses. Il redéfinit le jardin formel en tenant compte des axes longitudinal et transversal existants. L'attention portée aux lignes droites, aux proportions équilibrées et à l'utilisation de figures géométriques telles que la demi-arche sont typique du style de Janlet. Les trois grandes terrasses du côté sud-est du château décorées de parterres de fleurs aux couleurs vives ainsi que la disposition géométrique du jardin du Prince sont restées telles que nous les connaissons aujourd'hui. Les terrasses ont été redessinées en 1992 par l'architecte de jardin anversois Jacques Wirtz. Les plates-bandes de fleurs annuelles ont cédé la place à un dessin de pelouse bien serré, de blocs d'ifs taillés et de surfaces en gravier de dolomite.

de ommuurde moestuin van Hex

LE POTAGER
La construction originale en terrasse des jardins du chateau de Hex est préservée au sud du chateau. Le potager est complètement entouré des murs en brique et, plus bas que le château et les jardins à la française, se trouvent en terrasses parallèlement à la pente. En 1774, une rangée de maisons de village jouxtait la Hekslaan, y compris le presbytère. Les maisons ont été démolies et le presbytère a été reconstruit de l'autre côté de la rue. Les travaux furent achevés vers 1790. Depuis lors, peu de choses ont changé dans la disposition du potager. Le haut mur de soutènement du côté nord-est a 250 mètres de long et est toujours utilisé comme mur de fruits. C'est au pied de ce mur que se trouve le rabat, disant le "collier" du jardin. Le niveau central est occupé par les lits avec des légumes et des fleurs. Le niveau le plus bas côté rue, est occupé par un verger où paissent les moutons. Vous y trouverez également le vieux puits qui devait approvisionner le potager en eau. Dans la partie nord-ouest du jardin se trouvent les serres et le jardin enclos pépinière . La cave à légumes du 18ème siècle est cachée derrière une porte sous le grand mur de soutènement, dans la partie est du jardin, cachée parmi les rosiers grimpants.

Les jardins anglais perdus de HexLES JARDINS ANGLAIS PERDUS
Dans les années précédant sa mort en 1784, le prince-évêque Velbrück fit construire un complexe de jardins hors des murs des jardins à la française dans un concept totalement nouveau. Les soi-disant jardins anglais n'étaient qu'à la mode et Velbrück a été l'un des premiers à travailler selon les nouveaux principes de ces jardins «naturels» ou irréguliers. Le concept de sa cour anglaise d'alors est encore loin de ce que nous connaissons aujourd'hui sous le nom de jardin romantique anglais, mais la rupture de style avec la tradition rococo d'inspiration française était significative. Les jardins étaient disposés dans un grand rectangle, situé entre le jardin à la française et le Zavelberg, et entourés d'une haie. Des routes sinueuses conduisaient le visiteur à travers des passages forestiers allant d'un salon de jardin à un autre. Les bordures de la pelouse étaient exagérées et ici et là se dressaient des arbres solitaires, de petits groupes de plantes ligneuses (quêtes forestières) avec des plantes à fleurs et des constructions de parcs. Il ne reste plus grand-chose de cette cour anglaise. Plus encore, nous ne savons même pas dans quelle mesure les plans originaux ont été mis en œuvre. Mais le ton était donné. La cour anglaise jette les bases prudentes du grand parc paysager tel que nous le connaissons aujourd'hui.

LE PARC PAYSAGER
Le paysagiste allemand Louis Fuchs, qui a déménagé à Bruxelles, a été chargé en 1871 par comte Alfred I d'Ansembourg de redessiner le parc et les environs du château dans le style paysager de ce moment. Au cours des dix années suivantes, les vieilles forêts de pins ont été abattues, les reliefs ajustés, des nouvelles allées d'arbres plantées et des grandes pelouses aménagées. Aujourd'hui la vallée allongée de Louis Fuchs, avec son caractère doux et vert, ses groupes arborés et ses solitaires sélectionnés, est une des principales attractions du domaine, exemplaire pour le style et presque intact.

Hex 230 park 1140x100 copyright Hex

© 2020 Garden Festival Hex - Alle rechten voorbehouden