The vegetable garden

11008054_693793984087364_5828987276340841440_n [1]The kitchen garden of Hex is sometimes called the most beautiful vegetable garden in the country. Here the historic framework and its excellent location play a role. The garden lies on a slightly sloping surface in the sun and is protected from the cold wind by a high wall in the northeast. Since its inception, some 250 years ago, it has always remained in culture. He possesses a special quality of sandy loam soil. The combination of fruit, vegetables and flowers makes him a feast for the eyes.

HISTORY
The original layout of the vegetable garden was cruciform to the model of 'Le potager du roi' in Versailles. The plots were divided by Buxus hedges into artistic garlands and figures. This drawing was already replaced at the beginning of the 19th century by a more rational division of the surface.
At the beginning of the 20th century the vegetable garden was adapted again - this time to the needs of the tractor. This means that the narrow intermediate paths disappeared, while the remaining paths were widened to 2 meters. Meanwhile, the orangery at the bottom of the statuary staircase was exchanged for a majestic basin surrounded by roses and in the east of the kitchen garden a place for a tennis court was created.
Yet we can say that despite these interventions, Hex's kitchen garden has retained its authenticity over the centuries and that it is one of the few examples that has been in culture for almost 250 years without interruption.

12043226_708204175979678_282589159753014751_n [1]12036631_708204212646341_1529936586400035635_n [1]FRUIT
Castle Hex is a guardian of tradition when it comes to the cultivation of fruit and vegetables. In addition to the abundance of fruit that the surrounding orchards provide annually, the vegetable garden in particular offers a selection of historic table fruit. Towards the south wall are spaliers and nines of a hundred years old. Apples such as Cox Reinette or Courte pendu and pears like Doyonnnée or Comtesse de Paris are still among the most beloved. In the vegetable garden, a number of traditional crops are sustained with great care: sea kale, asparagus, cardoon, chicory, molsla, etc. In total, more than forty crops are cultivated every year in the vegetable garden.

SEASON FRUITS
The Hex Castle has a long history of self-sufficient living. The fine vegetables for the kitchen of the castle have been soaked on site for generations. In the large historic vegetable garden, one crop alternates with the other, so that every day of the year can be eaten fresh. Some vegetables are stored in the vegetable cellar, where they retain their freshness, taste and nutritional value.
Working with seasonal vegetables has great health benefits and the taste of daily fresh food from the garden is unbeatable.

Hex 244 storage cellar pumpkin 450x300 copyright Hex IMG_8991


THE CUSTOMERS

In ancient times, every castle and every abbey had a vegetable cellar. The vaulted vegetable cellar from Hex is probably the last of its kind that has been in continuous use. In the autumn the harvest will move from the vegetable garden to the cellar for storage. Some vegetables are buried with root ball while others are stacked in sharp sand. The Kardoen is also bleached in the basement. While outside, the vegetables remain fresh in the storage room and available to the kitchen until late spring.

SAMSUNG CSCHEX CULINARY
The kitchen garden of Hex offers place for a whole collection of special seasonal vegetables, each with their own method of preparation. The accompanying recipes have been refined with the generations and adapted to true home dishes. There is the Kardoen, which was bleached in the vegetable cellar in the autumn to appear on the plate as a delicacy by Christmas, accompanied by biscuits and marrow. There is the sea kale, which is bleached in the early spring under flowerpots and which, softly braised in the stove, is served with a béarnaise sauce. There is the indispensable winter Brussels Chicory, the Asparagus with mousseline, the stuffed bottoms of Artichoke, souflé of yellow Courgette or Potimarron, the home-made sauerkraut in stone jugs and so much more.

FLORAL BOARDS
'A well-stocked table deserves a beautiful bouquet.' With this idea in mind, a whole host of cut flowers found their place in the Hex gardens: perennials, bulbous plants, annuals and flowering trees and shrubs. In combination with the ever-expanding collection of shrubs, this resulted in a special chain of flower borders in English style with an abundance of flowers, within the strict framework of a French design.

SERRES AND BREEDING GARDEN
SAMSUNG CSCThe detached conservatory in aluminum replaces the old greenhouse that used to stand against the southern wall of the vegetable garden. This heated conservatory is used for sowing vegetables and flowers, as well as for the large collection of fragrant Pelargoniums by countess Stéphanie d'Ursel. Behind the conservatory one enters the nursery garden through a small doorway in the wall.
In grote platte bakken kweekt men hier de voorjaarsgroenten onder glas. Deze ommuurde tuin wordt ook de vijgenhof genoemd omwille van de serre die zich achteraan tegen de zonzijde bevindt. Die herbergt de oude vijgenbomen van mediterrane origine die nog steeds overvloedig vrucht dragen, vaak twee maal per jaar.

to the ornamental gardens
to the ornamental gardens

Hex 240 strip ui 1140x100 copyright Hex pixabay

© 2020 Garden Festival Hex - Alle rechten voorbehouden

Le potager

11008054_693793984087364_5828987276340841440_n [1]Le potager de Hex fait partie des plus beaux potagers historiques du pays. Particulièrement bien situé, le terrain légèrement en pente est orienté au sud ouest et est protégé du vent froid par un haut mur. Crée il y a environ 250 ans, le potager a toujours été productif. Son sol sablo-limoneux, régulièrement amendé par du paillage et du compost est très riche et adapté à la culture des fruits et légumes. Ceux ci y poussent avec abondance avec un grande variété de fleurs à couper qui en font un régal pour les yeux et le palais.

HISTOIRE
La disposition originale du potager était cruciforme sur le modèle du potager du roi à Versailles. Les parcelles ont été divisées par des haies Buxus en guirlandes et personnages artistiques. Ce dessin avait déjà été remplacé au début du 19ème siècle par une division plus rationnelle de la surface.
Au début du 20ème siècle, le potager a été adapté à nouveau - cette fois aux besoins du tracteur. Cela signifie que les chemins intermédiaires étroits ont disparu, tandis que les chemins restants ont été élargis à 2 mètres. Pendant ce temps, l'orangerie située au bas de l'escalier statuaire était remplacée par un bassin majestueux entouré de roses et, à l'est du potager, une place pour un court de tennis était créée.
Pourtant, on peut dire que malgré ces interventions, le potager de Hex a conservé son authenticité au fil des siècles et qu’il est l’un des rares exemples en culture depuis près de 250 ans sans interruption.

12043226_708204175979678_282589159753014751_n [1]12036631_708204212646341_1529936586400035635_n [1]Des fruits
Castle Hex est un gardien de la tradition en matière de culture de fruits et de légumes. En plus de l'abondance de fruits que les vergers environnants fournissent chaque année, le potager propose notamment une sélection de fruits de table historiques. Vers le mur sud sont des spaliers et des neuf centenaires. Les pommes comme Cox Reinette ou Courte pendu et les poires comme Doyonnnée ou Comtesse de Paris sont toujours parmi les plus appréciées. Dans le potager, un certain nombre de cultures traditionnelles sont entretenues avec le plus grand soin: chou marin, asperges, cardon, chicorée, molsla, etc. Au total, plus de quarante cultures sont cultivées chaque année dans le potager.

FRUITS DE SAISON
Le château de Hex a une longue histoire de vie autosuffisante. Les fins légumes de la cuisine du château sont trempés sur place depuis des générations. Dans le grand jardin potager historique, une culture alterne avec l'autre, de sorte que chaque jour de l'année puisse être mangé frais. Certains légumes sont stockés dans la cave à légumes, où ils conservent leur fraîcheur, leur goût et leur valeur nutritive.
Travailler avec des légumes de saison est très bénéfique pour la santé et le goût des aliments frais du jardin est imbattable.

Hex 244 cave de stockage citrouille 450x300 copyright Hex IMG_8991


Les clients

Dans les temps anciens, chaque château et chaque abbaye possédait une cave à légumes. La cave à légumes voûtée de Hex est probablement la dernière du genre à être utilisée de manière continue. En automne, la récolte passera du potager à la cave pour y être stockée. Certains légumes sont mis en terre avec leurs racines tandis que d'autres sont empilés dans du sable. Le cardon est également blanchi dans le sous-sol. À l'extérieur, les légumes restent frais dans la réserve et sont disponibles dans la cuisine jusqu'à la fin du printemps.

SAMSUNG CSCHEX CULINAIRE
Le potager de Hex peut accueillir toute une collection de légumes de saison spéciaux, chacun avec son propre mode de préparation. Les recettes qui les accompagnent ont été affinées au fil des générations et adaptées à de vrais plats maison. Il y a le Kardoen, qui a été blanchi dans la cave à légumes à l'automne pour apparaître sur l'assiette comme un mets délicat à Noël, accompagné de biscuits et de moelle. Il y a le chou marin blanchi au début du printemps sous les pots de fleurs et qui, doucement braisé au four, est servi avec une sauce béarnaise. Il y a l'indispensable Brussels Chicory, les asperges à la mousseline, les fonds farcis d'artichaut, le souflé de courgette jaune ou de potimarron, la choucroute maison en pichet en pierre et bien plus encore.

PLANCHES FLORALES
"Une table bien garnie mérite un beau bouquet." C'est dans cet esprit que de nombreuses fleurs coupées ont trouvé leur place dans les jardins Hex: plantes vivaces, bulbeuses, annuelles et arbres et arbustes à fleurs. En combinaison avec la collection d'arbustes en expansion constante, cela a donné une chaîne spéciale de bordures de fleurs de style anglais avec une abondance de fleurs, dans le strict cadre d'un design français.

SERRES ET JARDIN D'ÉLEVAGE
SAMSUNG CSCLa véranda isolée en aluminium remplace l'ancienne serre qui était auparavant adossée au mur sud du potager. Cette véranda chauffée est utilisée pour l'ensemencement de légumes et de fleurs, ainsi que pour la grande collection de pélargoniums parfumés de la comtesse Stéphanie d'Ursel. Derrière la véranda, on entre dans la pépinière par une petite porte dans le mur.
In grote platte bakken kweekt men hier de voorjaarsgroenten onder glas. Deze ommuurde tuin wordt ook de vijgenhof genoemd omwille van de serre die zich achteraan tegen de zonzijde bevindt. Die herbergt de oude vijgenbomen van mediterrane origine die nog steeds overvloedig vrucht dragen, vaak twee maal per jaar.

aux jardins d'ornement
aux jardins d'ornement

Hex 240 strip ui 1140x100 droit d'auteur Hex pixabay

© 2020 Garden Festival Hex - Alle rechten voorbehouden