The Siertuinen

Hex 251 French garden 750x530 copyright Hex GTabak (53)THE FRENCH GARDEN
The gardens fenced with high hedges at the main entrance were renovated by landscape architect Jules Janlet in the years between 1913 and 1917. Four of the many colorful flower beds were kept and planted with tulips and Salvia's every year. The remaining space is occupied by long lawn strips with scattered boxwood bulbs and decorative vases with a beautiful perspective on the façade of the castle.

Hex 252 terraces 750x450 copyright Hex PSG.be-1769THE TERRACES
Three terraces have been laid out from the south-east façade of the castle, which gradually descend and form, as it were, the pedestal on which the castle was built. They were redesigned in 1990 by the Antwerp landscape architect Jaques Wirtz. The terraces are bordered with blue stone and decorated with vases. A tight drawing of lawns and surfaces of dolomite grit, lined with shaved yew, replaces the nineteenth century beds with annual flowers. A round pond and the pots with Oleanders soften the strict lines. Roses bushes have been planted along both sides of the terraces like large flower shrubs and the old planes, holly and yew trees, which are pruned in large cloud forms, can be seen on the back plan.

SAMSUNG CSCTHE SMALL ROZENT GARDEN
Behind the high hedges of the erekoer is to the left of the castle a garden room which is now called the small rose garden. This was given its destination only in the 2Oth century, after the children of Countess Nanda d'Ursel had outgrown the sandbox and she herself was concentrating on the collection of historic garden roses. The central figure is an amor figurine on a pedestal and against the wall there is a semicircular water bowl with a fountain.

Hex 254 Chinese garden 720x450 copyright Hex GTabak (27)THE CHINESE GARDEN
In the Chinese garden or 'garden of Suzanne' one can get a peculiar one chinoiserie admire: a voluminous laughing Buddha in polychrome wood carving from the end of the 18th century. The image is from Liège-made to the example of a small porcelain that was in the castle. The image is movable: head and hands move through the pressure of the wind; mockingly the image also sticks out the tongue. The garden is divided in two by a central narrow water channel. The flagstones are a typical addition to the nineteenth century. After the renovation by countess Stéphanie d'Ursel in 2006, special plants of oriental origin were collected here.

DE PRINSENHOF
This garden on the sunny side of the south-west wing of the castle owes its name to Prince Bishop Velbrück, who overlooked this garden from his apartment. The garden has a typical French layout in 16 equal flower beds, based on a design by Jules Janlet. The beds are planted annually with aromatic summer flowers. Two classics that always come back are the fragrance arboronium 'Charity' and the blue salvia 'Victoria'.

In the prinsenhof we also find some special roses that are the origin of the famous rose collection on Hex. These are rose bushes that grow on their own roots and have been here since the end of the 18th century. The Rosa indica rubra, the Rosa 'Old Blush Hex' and the Rosa chinensis multipetala were brought back by the East India Company from China.

Hex 243 flower border 750x530 copyright Hex GTabak (54)THE FLORAL MEADOW
In the extension of the prinsenhof and the Chinese garden is the former donkey meadow. Nowadays she is maintained as a flower meadow and short-cut walking paths run crosswise through the plot. This meadow is caged once a year. A young planting of lime trees from all continents promises a beautiful linden forest for future generations. From the walking path along the meadow you have a beautiful view of the lower garden, the village and the surrounding landscape.

THE BEAUTY GARDEN
Hex 256 side garden 300x200 copyright Hex PSG1626When you leave the vegetable garden along the gate at the back you will come across a surprise: a small romantic valley, enclosed between the brick garden walls. The beehives shelter under the pans. Two coats of arms of the prince-bishop adorn a rustic watchtower. Tradition has it that under this monument is the grave of Velbrück's favorite mare. The name of the mare was Venus.

to the park
to the park

Hex 250 strip 1140x100 copyright Hex GTabak (56)

© 2019 Garden Festival Hex - All rights reserved

Les Jardins Français

Jardin français Hex 251 750x530 copyright Hex GTabak (53)LE JARDIN FRANCAIS
Les jardins clôturés avec de hautes haies à l'entrée principale ont été rénovés par l'architecte paysagiste Jules Janlet entre 1913 et 1917. Quatre des nombreux parterres de fleurs colorées ont été entretenus et plantés de tulipes et de Salvia's chaque année. L'espace restant est occupé par de longues bandes de gazon avec des bulbes de buis dispersés et des vases décoratifs offrant une belle perspective sur la façade du château.

Hex 252 terrasses 750x450 copyright Hex PSG.be-1769Les terrasses
Trois façades ont été aménagées à partir de la façade sud-est du château. Celles-ci descendent progressivement pour former le socle sur lequel le château a été construit. Ils ont été redessinés en 1990 par l'architecte paysagiste anversois Jaques Wirtz. Les terrasses sont bordées de pierre bleue et décorées de vases. Un dessin serré des pelouses et des surfaces de gravier dolomitique, tapissé d’if-if rasé, remplace les parterres du XIXe siècle par des fleurs annuelles. Un bassin rond et les pots avec des lauriers-roses adoucissent les lignes strictes. Des buissons de roses ont été plantés des deux côtés des terrasses, tels que de grands arbustes à fleurs, et les vieux platanes, des houx et des ifs, taillés en grandes formes nuageuses, sont visibles sur le plan arrière.

SAMSUNG CSCLE PETIT JARDIN ROZENT
Derrière les hautes haies de l'erekoer se trouve à gauche du château une salle de jardin qui s'appelle maintenant la petite roseraie. Cela n'a été donné à destination qu'au XXe siècle, après que les enfants de la comtesse Nanda d'Ursel eurent dépassé le bac à sable et qu'elle se concentra elle-même sur la collection de roses de jardin historiques. La figure centrale est une figurine amor sur un socle et, contre le mur, un bol d’eau semi-circulaire avec une fontaine.

Jardinier chinois Hex 254 720x450 copyright Hex GTabak (27)LE JARDIN CHINOIS
Dans le jardin chinois ou le «jardin de Suzanne», on peut en trouver un particulier chinoiseries Admirez: un volumineux Bouddha riant en bois polychrome sculpté de la fin du XVIIIe siècle. L'image est de Liège faite à l'exemple d'une petite porcelaine qui était dans le château. L'image est mobile: la tête et les mains se déplacent sous la pression du vent; moqueuse, l’image tire aussi la langue. Le jardin est divisé en deux par un canal d'eau étroit et central. Les dalles sont un ajout typique au XIXe siècle. Après la rénovation de la comtesse Stéphanie d'Ursel en 2006, des plantes spéciales d'origine orientale ont été collectées ici.

DE PRINSENHOF
Ce jardin situé du côté ensoleillé de l'aile sud-ouest du château doit son nom au prince évêque Velbrück, qui l'a vu depuis son appartement. Le jardin a une disposition typiquement française en 16 massifs de fleurs égaux, d'après un dessin de Jules Janlet. Les parterres sont plantés chaque année de fleurs d'été aromatiques. Deux classiques qui reviennent toujours sont l'arboronium "Charity" et la salvia bleue "Victoria".

Dans le prinsenhof, nous trouvons également des roses spéciales qui sont à l'origine de la célèbre collection de roses sur Hex. Ce sont des rosiers qui poussent sur leurs propres racines et sont ici depuis la fin du 18ème siècle. La Rosa indica rubra, la Rosa 'Old Blush Hex' et la Rosa chinensis multipetala ont été rapportées par la société des Indes orientales de Chine.

Bordure florale Hex 243 750x530 copyright Hex GTabak (54)La prairie florale
Dans le prolongement du prinsenhof et du jardin chinois se trouve l’ancienne prairie à ânes. De nos jours, elle est maintenue comme une prairie de fleurs et des sentiers de promenade raccourcis traversent la parcelle. Ce pré est mis en cage une fois par an. Une jeune plantation de tilleuls de tous les continents promet une belle forêt de tilleul pour les générations futures. Depuis le sentier pédestre longeant le pré, vous avez une vue magnifique sur le jardin inférieur, le village et le paysage environnant.

LE JARDIN DE BEAUTE
Hex 256 side garden 300x200 copyright Hex PSG1626Lorsque vous quittez le potager le long de la porte à l'arrière, vous tomberez sur une surprise: une petite vallée romantique, enfermée entre les murs du jardin de briques. Les ruches abritent sous les casseroles. Deux armoiries du prince-évêque ornent une tour de guet rustique. La tradition veut que sous ce monument se trouve la tombe de la jument préférée de Velbrück. Le nom de la jument était Vénus.

au parc
au parc

Hex 250 bandes 1140x100 copyright Hex GTabak (56)