Spring in the garden

The vegetable garden of Hex Castle is part of a long tradition of a seasonal and self-sufficient life. The garden is a reflection of the kitchen of the castle. Or the other way round, cultivating what you would like to have in your plate.

The agenda and cultivating techniques have been transmitted and improved through generations from gardener to gardener. This overview will help you create your own sowing calendar for the coming months: from end of February until June, for all gardeners - amateur, connoisseur, professional -these are the three busiest months of the year.

 

FEBRUARY/MARCH
The winter months are definitely over: the temperature is rising steadily and everything is moving in the garden. But despite the spring jitters, some caution is needed - certainly in the first weeks. It can still be quite inclement in March, and the soil is still wet and cold. In the meantime I already put the greenhouse and flat containers in order. 

The first crops that require our attention are the vegetables that grow slowly or sprout, like the celery species - celeriac for example. We sow celery in a conservatory in one of the seed trays with a sifted soil, the seeds lightly covered with sharp sand. I divide the fine seeds with ample space - so that the seedlings do not crowd out until they are ready to be weaned. Celery is very slow to germinate and needs therefore a temperature of at least 18 to 20 °C: ideal for the veranda or on the windowsill of your kitchen. Good advice: keep an eye on your seed tray; keep it moist daily and be patient.

Next to the celery, I make room on the tablet for the summer leek. Leeks are also a slow sprout with a need for heat. We sow in a deep container with a raised edge.

Paprika, peppers, aubergine and melon are plants that naturally have a long season. In order to harvest the first fruits in mid-summer, they must be sown early. I sow them in seed trays. They all germinate quickly. I transplant them into pots and keep them in the warm conservatory until May.

Then we also provide space in the heat for chards and artichoke, and this year I will also sow asparagus. I usually sow the perennial plants in trails or pots.

I keep the heat-loving vegetables warm on an electric heat mat with thermostat - at night I cover them with an extra cover. In the early days, there used to be a coal heater to keep the conservatory warm.

Cabbage and salad don't need much heat. We can start sowing them in the conservatory when the temperature reaches 12°C. Spring and summer oxheart cabbage, early cauliflower and broccoli are sown in trays, and then weaned out as soon as the seedlings have a few real leaves and show a branched root system. It is best to stay under the glass of the flat container until the weather allows them to be planted in the vegetable garden.

The first sweet peas are sown directly in pots after soaking them overnight. After a few weeks I plant them out under the glass of the flat container. Later in the season they can grow in the garden.

The seed potatoes of early potato varieties can now also be sown in the conservatory. We display the seed potatoes over a number of boxes with straw for germination. For organic cultivation, we choose tasty old varieties with a high resistance: "Belle de Fontenay", "Franceline", "Rosabelle" or "Roseval".

In the flat tray we sow spring vegetables under the glass in rows. I usually start with the "Golden Yellow Gotte" because it is ready for harvest with its small crop. "Golden yellow Gotte", "American red border", red oak leaf lettuce, "White Dunsel" are all very suitable as lettuce. While we wait for our first crops, we can harvest from these for a few weeks for a mixed salad. Then we sow a row of endive 'Always white' and salad herbs such as cress, aragula, leaf mustardcoriander and flat parlsey. I also sow a few rows of radish, stem onion, celery and chervil. You can also sow spinach or corn salad this month.

Then I saw a large tray of early bussel carrots. 'Amsterdam's box' is an unparalleled old and tasty variety that you can harvest in June. Also sow 'yellow stomp from Doubs' and a purple variety for some color.

In the kitchen garden  we start by removing the winter layer. We are going to break open the loamy earth with a storring fork to let the soil dry and warm up in the sun and wind. A few days later we will then mill, rake and sow.
We also prepare the parcels where we will only sow in April or May (think carrots, chicory, onion or salsify). In the meantime, the weeds will germinate and we have the opportunity to hoe once before sowing, which saves us a lot of weeding afterwards. This technique is called false seedbed.

The first crop that can go in the ground, even in bad weather, is the lab bean (broad bean). Lab bean is an often forgotten or undervalued vegetable. Not only are the thick beans harvested green juicy and sweet, but the leaves, the flower buds and the pods also have all kinds of tasty preparation methods. The cultivation is rather simple. So do not hesitate to add this old vegetable to your range.
Furthermore, it is often possible during the first half of March to sow leafy plants in open ground, such as green turnip, spinach and chard. For spinach we will choose 'Viroflay' this month, and for chards we opt for the variety 'blond Lucullus'.
In regards to peas we will wait a bit more before we sow them. Peas can easily rot if the circumstances are not ideal. To ensure rapid emergence, we soak the seeds overnight and pre-germinate them in the greenhouse for a day or two. To prevent them from getting into trouble in the event of persistent rain, we ground the row - largely diverting the fallen rain from the row. Also remember to protect the emerging peas with a net from the birds as soon as possible.
It's also time to sow onion and plant onion shallot . A sowing onion (like 'Rijnsburger' or 'Alison Craig') keeps well longer than a onion plant.

Towards the end of the month we can also sow early potatoes in the ground. Their place in the conservatory is immediately occupied by the late varieties (such as the "Cornes de gatte") which in turn quickly germinate.

CHORES FOR MARCH
The permanent crops are checked and added onto.
Chives, rhubarb, sugar root or sea kale are split.
Sea kale is covered with flower pots for bleaching.
Asparagus beds are raised
The strawberry bed is weeded, fertilized and covered with straw.

APRIL
April is the spring month by excellence, but the risk of night frost remains until mid-May; and that entails a lot of risks for the summer fruit crops. In addition to paprika, pepper and aubergine, summer fruit crops also include zucchini, tomato, pickle, cucumber, melon and pumpkin - and for convenience, sweet corn and basil.

These summer crops require a temperature of at least 20 °C to 22 °C to germinate, and at a later stage a temperature above 15 °C. In the veranda or in the house in front of a window is a possibility, and with insufficient light you can quickly see the seedlings crawling towards the source of light. The greenhouse with temporary heating is ideal for the cultivation of these varieties.

Paprika, aubergine, peppers and melon have been sown as early as possible (see above). However, a long period in the house or in the conservatory also carries the risk of all kinds of damage. That sometimes makes the cultivation of some of these summer crops an adventure. Do not be discouraged by your setbacks.
The first tomatoes are sown at the end of February. These are the earliest varieties, which are planted in the greenhouse - or creeping varieties for under the flat glass. The majority of tomatoes, the mid-sized outdoor tomatoes, are only sown early April. They are weaned after two to three weeks, and preferably are repotted a second time after a few weeks - before they go outside. I benefit from repotting to plant the tomato plants a little deeper each time.
Pumpkin is the fastest grower. We therefore only sow pumpkin mid-April, so that these plants do not stay in the greenhouse for more than four weeks.

WARM PRE-SOWING
In order, from February until mid-April:
celeriac - celery - summer leek
artichoke - chard - melon - bell pepper - aubergine
zucchini - tomato - basil
pickle - cucumber
pumpkin

With all the hustle and bustle surrounding the cultivation of the warm fruit crops, it is not surprising that the sowing of the autumn and winter crops have been overlooked in April. Therefore write it down in your diary: white and red cabbage 'Langedijker bewaar', kalesavoy cabbage, Brussels sprout, winter cauliflower and winter leek. It is not necessary to sow them in the greenhouse - they do very well in a seedbed in open ground or in the container.
For the cultivation of winter leek we choose the variety "Blue of Liège". We also sow another early cauliflower.
We are now sowing for the first time in the flat tray summer purslane and every four weeks a bit of radish, lettuce, iceberg and some salad herbs.

In the open ground April starts with the sowing of the 'Nantese' root (for summer and to keep). Furthermore we sow beetroot, 'rainbow'-chard, fennel and salsify ; and then in between vegetable rows marigold alternated with East Indian Cress; and cut flowers such as cosmos, zinnia and sweet peas.
Towards May 1 we start to sow late seedpotatoes and then lettuce, cauliflower, broccoli, leek and celeriac are planted out.

CHORES FOR APRIL
Soil life has awakened - the compost heaps are restarted.
The insects are back - we hang pheronome traps in the fruit trees.
The carrot plot is covered with insect mesh.
Grapes, peach trees and roses are sprayed with sulfur for the first time.
The young cabbage plants are protected with a net against the wood pigeons.

MAY
May is a month with two faces. On the one hand, we see fine summer weather with sometimes peaks up to 25 °C - on the other hand, the nights are sometimes still frighteningly cold.

The conservatory is overloaded. From May the fruitcropssuch as tomatoes can gently go outside to get used to the wind and the sun. However, always bring them back in time because the shock of a single cold night can weaken them forever.

Mid-May, together with "the last of the Ice Saints", the night frost traditionally ends. After that, the planting material of the summer fruit crops is allowed to go to the garden. In the first half of the month we are busy preparing the parcels for the fruit crops so that the planting can be done without delay.
At the same time we sow peas again during this period - for a longer harvest.

We sow parsnip and rutabaga for a Autumn harvest; and some time later we sow sweetcorn and New-Zealand spinach.
From May we can also sow chicory . Sowing chicory is like sowing carrots, it is a precise and patient task - which you can only do in good weather. The more precisely you sow, the less work you will have to do with the rows. Finally, we plant the tubers of Dahlia in the first half of May on the borders of the vegetable garden.
If the weather good is, I will sow the first in the second half of May bush beans. I lay every 30 cm three to five beans in the row, after which - just like with the peas - I increase the row. After all, beans cannot withstand cold nights or wet soil.

For the rest, the days until June are filled with planting pumpkin, zucchini, tomato, pepper and basil, cucumber, pickle and melon. The earliest tomatoes , just like melons, are planted in the flat trays under the glass. The other tomato varieties are led up on a rope under a roof.
For pumpkin we keep a large parcel. Pickles, aubergine and cucumber go in the flat containers that have now been released for spring cultivation. Also pickle and cucumber are usually led on a rope, while aubergine and pepper are supported with a simple stick.

CHORES FOR MAY
The first treatments against insects are urgent: a simple ecological insecticide based on soap or oil against louse on cabbages and leafminer in the leaves of leek does the trick.
Nettle vulture is prepared to serve as a liquid fertilizer for the fruit crops.
The potatoes are raised when night frost threatens.
The carrots are thinned.
We build a roof for the tomatoes.
Ample compost is added when planting the fruit crops.
The bean stakes are straightened.
The parcels of the fruit crops are covered with straw after planting.

AND FURTHER
We look forward to the activities of the coming months. Early June we sow stake and runner bean - five beans around each stake- as well as dry bean "Flageollet" and a second time broad bean. In the flat tray I sow lettuce, iceberg, fennel, late cauliflower and Chinese cabbage again for a September harvest.

With the longest day ahead, the first of our late crops appear in the meanwhile well-stocked vegetable garden. After all, the autumn and winter cabbages are ready to plant out one after the other, and the winter leek has yet to find a place. Fortunately, there are the lots of early potatoes that are released.
Then, we will sow sharp and flat-leaved endive ('scarole') green chicory and radichiovarieties like 'Castelfranco' and 'Red of Verona' in the flat tray to wean out in the summer months.
To sow spinach again, we will wait until July; we will then go for a slow grower such as 'Viking' to harvest in September. To sow corn salad, winter purslane, turnip and black radish we wait until after summer.

Good luck!
Written by Gust Duchamps.

 

 

Give your opinion

Garden Festival Hex

Every year in June and September the gardens of Castle Hex open to the general public. Enjoy our beautiful gardens and visit the many stands of our numerous exhibitors. More...

Follow us

Follow Hex on facebook or enjoy seasonal photos from the Hex gardens on Instagram.

Recent Stories

© 2020 Garden Festival Hex - Alle rechten voorbehouden

Le printemps dans le potager

Le potager du château d'Hex s'inscrit dans une longue tradition de vie saisonnière et autosuffisante. Le jardin est le reflet de la cuisine du château. Ou vice versa, si vous voulez, le jardin est dans l'assiette.

Le calendrier et les techniques de culture ont été transmis et améliorés de jardinier en jardinier depuis des générations. Cet aperçu peut vous aider à établir votre propre calendrier de semis pour les mois à venir : de fin février à juin - pour tout jardinier, amateur ou professionnel, ce sont sans doute les trois mois les plus chargés de l'année.

 

FÉVRIER/MARS
Les mois d'hiver sont définitivement terminés : la température augmente régulièrement et il y a déjà beaucoup de choses qui bougent dans le jardin. Mais malgré l'effervescence printanière, une certaine prudence s'impose, surtout au cours des premières semaines. Le mois de mars peut encore être assez froid par moments, et le sol est encore humide et froid. Entre-temps, j'ai mis de l'ordre dans la serre et les bacs plats. 

Les premières cultures qui requièrent notre attention sont celles qui poussent lentement ou et germent, comme le types de céleri - Le céleri-rave, par exemple. Nous semons le céleri dans le serre Dans l'un des bacs à semis avec de la terre tamisée, les graines sont légèrement recouvertes de sable fin. Je divise les fines graines en laissant un grand espace, de sorte que les jeunes plants ne se bousculent pas les uns les autres jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient prêts à être repiqués. Le céleri est très lent à germer et a besoin d'une température d'au moins 18 à 20°C : idéal pour la véranda ou sur le rebord de la fenêtre de votre cuisine. Un bon conseil : surveillez votre plateau de semis, gardez-le humide tous les jours et ne perdez pas patience.

A côté du céleri, je fais de la place sur la tablette pour le poireaux d'été. Les poireaux sont aussi des germoirs lents qui ont besoin de chaleur. Nous semons dans un récipient profond avec un bord vertical.

Paprika, poivrons, aubergine et melon sont des plantes qui ont une longue saison par nature. Pour pouvoir récolter les premiers fruits au milieu de l'été, il faut les semer tôt. Je les sème dans des bacs à graines. Elles germent toutes assez rapidement. Je repique les plantes en pots et les garde dans la serre chaude jusqu'en mai.

Ensuite, nous fournissons également un espace dans la chaleur pour cardon et artichautset cette année je sème aussi, par exemple asperges. Je sème généralement les plantes vivaces dans des sentiers ou des pots.

Je garde les légumes qui aiment la chaleur au chaud sur une plaque électrique. tapis chauffant avec thermostat - avec une polaire supplémentaire par-dessus la nuit. Autrefois, il y avait un poêle à charbon pour chauffer la véranda.

Charbon et salade n'ont pas besoin de beaucoup de chaleur. Dans la serre, nous pouvons commencer à travailler dès que la température tourne autour de 12°C. Les choux de printemps et d'été tels que Chou pointudébut chou-fleur et brocoli Je les sème en plateaux, puis je les repique une fois que les semis ont quelques vraies feuilles et présentent un système racinaire ramifié. Il est préférable de les conserver sous le verre du plateau plat jusqu'à ce que le temps permette de les planter dans le potager.

Le premier pois mange-tout Je les sème directement dans des pots après les avoir laissés tremper toute une nuit. Après quelques semaines, je les plante sous le verre du récipient plat. Plus tard dans la saison, on enlève le verre et on les laisse grandir.

De même, le graines des variétés de pommes de terre précoces a désormais sa place dans la serre. Nous exposons les pommes de terre de semence dans un certain nombre de caisses avec de la paille pour la germination. En culture biologique, nous choisissons de savoureuses variétés anciennes à haute résistance : "Belle de Fontenay", "Franceline", "Rosabelle" ou "Roseval".

Dans le réservoir plat Je sème les légumes de printemps en rangs sous verre. Je commence généralement par la 'Gold Yellow Gotte' car sa petite tête est prête à être récoltée plus rapidement. Golden Gotte', 'American Red Edge', laitue à feuilles de chêne rouge, 'White Dunsel' conviennent également très bien en tant qu'engrais. laitue. En attendant nos premières têtes, nous pourrons en récolter une salade mixte dans quelques semaines. En outre, nous semons ensuite une rangée endive Toujours "blanc" et les épices à salade comme cresson, fusée, Moutarde à feuillescoriandre et plat persil. Je sème aussi des rangs radis, tige d'oignon, céleri et cerfeuilEt n'oubliez pas. Si nécessaire, vous pouvez également utiliser le bulletin d'information de ce mois-ci. épinards ou mâche semer.

Après tout, j'ai semé un gros seau plein de graines précoces. bussel-roots. Amsterdamse bak' est une variété ancienne et savoureuse incomparable pour une première récolte en juin. Avec l'" haltère jaune du Doubs " et une variété violette, nous varions également les couleurs.

Dans le potager  Nous commençons par enlever la couverture d'hiver. Nous allons ouvrir le sol argileux avec un... fourche pour laisser le sol sécher et se réchauffer au soleil et au vent. Quelques jours plus tard, nous allons alors labourer, ratisser et semer.
Nous préparons également les parcelles où nous ne semerons pas avant avril ou mai (pensez aux carottes, aux endives, aux oignons ou aux salsifis). Entre-temps, les mauvaises herbes germeront et nous aurons la possibilité de biner avant de semer, ce qui nous épargnera beaucoup de désherbage par la suite. Cette technique est appelée faux lit de semence.

La première culture qui peut être plantée, même par mauvais temps, est le haricot de laboratoire (Haricot de jardin). Le haricot labrador est un légume souvent oublié ou sous-estimé. Non seulement les gros haricots, récoltés verts, sont juteux et sucrés, mais les feuilles, les boutons floraux et les gousses ont toutes sortes d'utilisations savoureuses. La culture se fait pratiquement sans problème. N'hésitez donc pas à ajouter ce légume ancien à votre gamme.
En outre, au cours de la première quinzaine de mars, il est souvent possible de cultures à feuilles semer en terre, si Feuilles de navet, épinards et warmoes. Ce mois-ci, nous avons choisi le 'Viroflay' comme épinard ; les échauffourées sont de la variété 'blonde Lucullus'.
Avec pois en semant dans le sol, il faut faire attention. Les pois pourrissent facilement si les conditions ne sont pas favorables. Pour assurer une levée rapide, nous faisons tremper les graines toute la nuit et les laissons pré-germées pendant un jour ou deux dans la serre. Pour les empêcher d'avoir des ennuis en cas de pluie persistante, nous mettons la rangée en terre, ce qui permet d'éloigner la plupart des précipitations de la rangée. Pensez également à protéger les pois naissants des oiseaux avec un filet dès que possible.
Il est également temps de oignon semer et planter des oignons et échalote à mettre dans le sol. Un oignon de semence (comme le 'Rijnsburger' ou le 'Alison Craig') se conserve plus longtemps qu'un oignon végétal.

A la fin du mois, le pommes de terre de primeur dans le sol. Leur place dans la serre est immédiatement occupée par les variétés tardives (telles que 'Cornes de gatte'), qui commencent à leur tour à germer rapidement.

CORVÉES POUR MARS
Les cultures permanentes sont contrôlées et reconstituées.
La ciboulette, la rhubarbe, la racine de sucre ou le chou marin sont partagés.
Les choux de mer sont recouverts de pots de fleurs pour les blanchir.
Les lits d'asperges sont surélevés
La fraisière est désherbée, fertilisée et recouverte de paille.

AVRIL
Le mois d'avril est le mois du printemps par excellence, mais le risque de gelée nocturne persiste jusqu'à la mi-mai ; et cela présente de nombreux risques pour la cultures de fruits d'été. Les cultures de fruits d'été comprennent non seulement les poivrons, les piments et les aubergines, mais aussi les courgettes, les tomates, les cornichons, les concombres, les melons et les citrouilles - et, pour plus de commodité, le maïs doux et le basilic.

Ces cultures d'été nécessitent une température d'au moins 20°C à 22°C pour germer, et à un stade ultérieur une température supérieure à 15°C. Dans la véranda ou dans la maison, devant une fenêtre, c'est une possibilité, mais avec une lumière insuffisante, vous verrez bientôt les semis ramper vers la source de lumière. La serre avec chauffage temporaire est idéale pour la culture de ces espèces.

Paprika, aubergine, poivrons et melon sont semés le plus tôt possible (voir ci-dessus). Cependant, une longue période dans la maison ou dans la serre entraîne également le risque de voir apparaître toutes sortes de parasites. La culture de certaines de ces plantes d'été est donc parfois une aventure. Surtout, ne vous laissez pas décourager par vos revers.
Le premier tomates sont semés à la fin du mois de février. Ce sont les variétés les plus précoces, qui sont plantées dans la serre - ou les variétés précoces rampantes pour sous le verre plat. La majeure partie des tomates, les tomates de plein air moyennement précoces, ne sont pas semées avant le début du mois d'avril. Ils sont repiqués après deux à trois semaines, et de préférence rempotés une deuxième fois après quelques semaines - avant de sortir. Je profite du rempotage pour planter les plants de tomates un peu plus profondément à chaque fois.
Citrouille est celui qui connaît la croissance la plus rapide. Nous ne semons donc pas le potiron avant la mi-avril, afin qu'il ne doive pas rester plus de quatre semaines dans la serre.

PRÉ-SEMIS CHAUD
Dans l'ordre, de février à mi-avril :
céleri-rave - céleri - poireaux d'été
artichaut - cardon - melon - poivron - aubergine
courgette - tomate - basilic
cornichon - concombre
citrouille

Avec toute l'agitation qui entoure la propagation des cultures fruitières chaudes, il n'est pas surprenant que le semis de la cultures d'automne et d'hiver en avril est parfois négligée. Notez donc dans votre agenda : blanc et rouge. shutterbugs Langedijker store", chou friséchou de Savoie, Choux de Bruxelles, chou-fleur d'hiver et poireaux d'hiver. Il n'est pas nécessaire de les semer dans la serre - elles se portent très bien dans un lit de semences en pleine terre ou dans le jardin.
Pour la culture des poireaux d'hiver, nous choisissons la variété 'Blauwe van Luik'. Nous semons également un chou-fleur.
Sur le plateau, nous semons aussi pour la première fois... pourpier d'été et les quatre semaines un peu de radis, de laitue de chou, d'iceberg et quelques herbes à salade.

Sur pleine terre commence en avril avec le semis de la "Nantaise". carotte (pour l'été et à conserver). En outre, il y a betterave rougearc-en-cielblettes, céleri-rave et salsifis semé ; puis entre les rangs de légumes rose d'Inde alterné avec cresson d'Indeet fleurs coupées comme le cosmos, le zinnia et le pois de senteur.
On se rapproche déjà du 1er mai, date à laquelle c'est le tour de la Commission européenne. pommes de terre de semence tardives et enfin, on plante la laitue, le chou-fleur, le brocoli, les poireaux et le céleri.

AVRIL CHORES
La vie du sol s'est réveillée - les tas de compost ont redémarré.
Les insectes sont également de retour - nous suspendons des pièges à phéromones dans les arbres fruitiers.
La parcelle de racines est recouverte d'un filet anti-insectes.
Les raisins, les pêchers et les roses sont pulvérisés avec du soufre pour la première fois.
Les jeunes plants de choux sont protégés des pigeons ramiers par un filet.

MAI
Mai est un mois à deux visages. D'une part, il fait beau en été, avec des températures atteignant parfois 25°C, et d'autre part, les nuits peuvent encore être terriblement froides.

La serre est débordante. À partir du mois de mai, le cultures fruitièresComme les tomates, elles sont soigneusement mises à l'extérieur pour s'habituer lentement au vent et au soleil. Cependant, il faut toujours les ramener à l'intérieur à temps, car le choc d'une seule nuit froide peut les affaiblir à jamais.

À la mi-mai, le gel nocturne prend traditionnellement fin avec le "dernier des saints de glace". Après cela, les cultures de fruits d'été peuvent être plantées dans le jardin. La première moitié du mois, nous préparons les parcelles pour les cultures fruitières afin que la plantation puisse se faire sans délai.
En même temps, nous semons à nouveau en cette période pois - pour une saison de récolte plus longue.

Nous semons panais et chou-rave pour une récolte d'automne ; et un peu plus tard nous semons maïs doux et Epinards de Nouvelle-Zélande.
Dès le début du mois de mai, le chicorée semé. Le semis de l'endive, tout comme celui des carottes, est un travail précis et patient, que vous ne pouvez réaliser que par beau temps. Plus vous sèmerez avec précision, moins vous aurez à travailler pour éclaircir les rangs. Enfin, dans la première quinzaine de mai, nous plantons les tubercules de Dahlia dans les bordures du potager.
Si le temps est bon, je sèmerai les premières graines dans la deuxième quinzaine de mai. haricots nains. Je place trois à cinq haricots dans le rang tous les 30 cm, après quoi je relève le rang, comme je l'ai fait pour les pois. Après tout, les haricots n'aiment pas non plus les nuits froides ni les sols humides.

Sinon, les jours jusqu'au mois de juin sont remplis par la plantation de citrouilles, courgettes, tomates, poivrons et basilic, concombres, cornichons et melons. Le plus ancien tomates est, comme le melonsLes tomates sont plantées dans le conteneur plat sous verre. Les autres variétés de tomates sont montées sur des cordes - sous un auvent.
Pour citrouille nous réservons toujours une grande parcelle. Cornichon, aubergine et concombre arrivent dans les plateaux plats qui ont été libérés de la culture de printemps. Le cornichon et le concombre sont aussi généralement conduits par une corde, tandis que l'aubergine et le poivron sont soutenus par un simple bâton.

CHORES POUR MAI
Les premiers traitements contre les insectes sont imminents : un insecticide écologique simple à base de savon ou d'huile contre les pucerons sur les choux et la mineuse à l'aisselle des poireaux.
Le millet des orties est produit pour servir d'engrais liquide aux cultures fruitières.
Les pommes de terre sont levées lorsque la gelée nocturne menace.
Les carottes sont amincies.
Un abri est construit pour les tomates.
Lors de la plantation des cultures fruitières, une grande quantité de compost est fournie.
La tige de haricot est redressée.
Après la plantation, les parcelles de cultures fruitières sont recouvertes de paille.

ET EN OUTRE
Nous attendons avec impatience les travaux des mois à venir. Au début du mois de juin piquet et haricot d'Espagne encore semés - cinq haricots autour de chaque piquet - ainsi que les haricot sec flageollet' et une seconde fois le haricot buissonnier. Dans le plateau, je sème une fois de plus de la laitue pommée, de l'iceberg, du céleri-rave, du chou-fleur tardif et du chou chinois pour une récolte en septembre.

À l'approche du jour le plus long, les premières cultures tardives apparaissent dans le potager désormais bien garni. Les choux d'automne et d'hiver sont prêts à être plantés un par un et les poireaux d'hiver doivent encore trouver leur place. Heureusement, il y a les parcelles de pommes de terre précoces qui se libèrent.
Enfin, nous semons des feuilles pointues et plates. endive ("skarol"), pain de sucre et radichio-Les espèces telles que 'Castelfranco' et 'Red from Verona' dans le conteneur plat pour le repiquage pendant les mois d'été.
Pour revenir épinards Nous attendons la fin du mois de juillet pour semer ; nous choisissons ensuite une plante à croissance lente comme 'Viking' pour une récolte en septembre. Et avec les semailles de mâche, pourpier d'hiver, navet et radis nous attendons que les mois d'été soient complètement terminés.

Bonne chance !
 Gust Duchamps, jardin potager Hex.

 

Donnez votre avis

Journée des plantes à Hex

Chaque année, en juin et septembre, les jardins du Château d'Hex sont ouverts au grand public. Profitez de nos magnifiques jardins et visitez les nombreux stands de nos exposants. Plus d'info

Suivez nous

Suivez Hex sur Facebook ou profitez des photos de saison des jardins de Hex sur Instagram.

Histoires récentes

© 2022 Castle Hex - Tous droits réservés

COVID 19